OUT NOW: EP from Tombstones In Their Eyes (Los Angeles) and LP from The Heavy Blinkers (Nova Scotia)

‘Fear’ EP from Los Angeles’TOMBSTONES IN THEIR EYES, offering you an enticing mix of Spacemen 3, Kyuss, Elephant Stone, Pink Floyd, Electric Wizard, Black Sabbath, and My Bloody Valentine.

Tombstones In Their Eyes
Fear EP 
Send Me Your Head Records 
4 August 2017

Soundcloud https://soundcloud.com/tombstonesintheireyes/sets/fear-ep
Bandcamp https://tombstonesintheireyes.bandcamp.com/album/fear

Los Angeles’ rock outfit Tombstones in Their Eyes are releasing their ‘Fear’ EP via Send Me Your Head Records. This was preceded by the first single ‘Always There’ with accompanying video.

With this five-track release, the four-piece manage to embrace a wide range of influences, from the stoner rock of Kyuss to the warped neo- psychedelia of the likes of Spacemen 3 to the cavernous and doom-laden sounds of Electric Wizard and beyond.

Tombstones In Their Eyes’ current line-up is John Treanor (guitar, vocals, keyboards, songwriter), Josh Drew (guitar, backing vocals), Mike Mason (bass, guitar) and Stephen Striegel (drums). Their musical influences include The Brian Jonestown Massacre, Elliott Smith and The Melvins.

Recorded at L.A.’s Kitten Robot Studio with Paul Roessler (Nina Hagen, The Deadbeats, The Screamers, 45 Grave), this EP follows up their huge sounding ‘Bad Clouds’ EP (2016) and debut album ‘Sleep Forever’ (2014). “Paul knows exactly where I’m coming from and intuitively knows how to make what I’m feeling come through the speakers,” says John Treanor.

The band began life as a demo swapping exercise between John Treanor in L.A. and his childhood friend James Cooper, now in New York, but soon coalesced into a full fledged band. But collectives are always more than what you see on the surface. In John’s case, writing and performing songs is also a way of dealing with severe anxiety and depression, a way of talking about the subject without being the centre of the conversation, and a way of being subliminal rather than direct.

While such a starting point could easily see the music devolve into melancholy and self-absorption, here Tombstones in Their Eyes instead manage to move beyond that place and create music laced with celestial grandeur and a fuzzed out psychedelic majesty that looks out into the universe just as much as it looks inward toward the soul.

This music is also designed to connect rather than be insular. As Treanor says, “Everybody goes through hard periods in their life, and I hope that these songs make them feel less alone.”

Tombstones create walls of sound, which are simultaneously sonorous and hazy. These are cavernous, stoner lullabies that descend into post-rock soundscapes and are wrapped in dark shoegazing dreamscapes.

The cover design, created by well known psychedelic artist Darren Grealish, brings just the right image to such a mercurial collection.


1. I Want To Fly
2. Separate
3 Always There
4. Another Day
5. Fear
John Treanor – guitar/keyboards/vocals
Josh Drew – guitar
Mike Mason – bass/guitar
Stephen Striegel – drums (Fear, Separate, Always There)
Michael Sanger – drums (I Want To Fly, Another Day)
James Cooper – synth, electronic drums (Separate), musical guidance
Larry Salzman – percussion
Paul Roessler – keyboards
Produced by Paul Roessler and John Treanor
Recorded by Paul Roessler at Kitten Robot Studios
Mastered by Alex DeYoung
Front Cover Art by Darren Grealish
Cover Design by Steve Gerdes
Send Me Your Head Records – SND 005
Keep up with Tombstones In Their Eyes
Facebook | Soundcloud | Bandcamp | YouTube | Twitter | TumblrSpotify

Keep up with Shameless Promotion PR


On Label Obscura, THE HEAVY BLINKERS ‘The Night And I Are Still So Young’ LP is one of the greatest albums ever released in Canada, ranking among top releases in Noisey’s Completely Biased Ranking of the 60 Best Canadian Indie Rock Songs of the 00s and Number 1 in View 902’s The Top 20 Albums by Nova Scotians.

The Heavy Blinkers
The Night And I Are Still So Young 
Label Obscura 
1 August 2017

Label Obscura Releases Classic Album from Nova Scotia’s The Heavy Blinkers
First Vinyl Release of The Heavy Blinkers ‘The Night and I Are Still So Young’
Canada’s Label Obscura has given one of the best independent pop albums of the early 2000s – ‘The Night And I Are Still So Young’ by The Heavy Blinkers, the first-ever vinyl release for this classic album.
Described by Spin magazine as “one of the greatest bands you’ve (probably) never heard”, The Heavy Blinkers is a five-piece formed in 1998 by Jason Michael MacIsaac and a group of friends, including keyboardist and songwriter Andrew Watt and ethereal vocalist Ruth Minnikin. They are based out of Halifax, Nova Scotia.

By 2004, the intricate and tightly constructed chamber pop of The Heavy Blinkers had become well known, winning them widespread acclaim, albeit without corresponding commercial success for their self-titled debut release in 2000 and the ‘Better Weather’ LP in 2002. The band reached a remarkable breakthrough with their fourth album ‘The Night and I Are Still So Young’ (2004), exhibiting a new maturity in this stunningly orchestrated pop masterpiece.
At the time that ‘The Night and I Are Still Young’ was recorded, The Heavy Blinkers were comprised of Andrew Watt, Greg Fry, Jason MacIsaac, Ruth Minnikin, and Trevor Forbes. MacIsaac is currently the only remaining original member of the band.

Two years in the making, this album consolidates the nocturnal orchestrations of the Flaming Lips and Mercury Rev and grafts them onto material akin to 70’s era Beach Boys, Harry Nilsson or Randy Newman. This has led to the group gathering fans wide and afar, including Sondre Lerche, Van Dyke Parks and The High Llamas.

The luscious pop songmanship of this album has earned The Heavy Blinkers comparisons with Brian Wilson’s best work at his peak, as well as international acclaim and devoted fans. The band’s sonic landscape is rich with multi-tracked vocals featuring an affecting interplay between Minnikin, Watt and MacIsaac, combined with a virtual enchanted forest of arrangements.
Noisey recently included The Heavy Blinkers in their Completely Biased Ranking of the 60 Best Canadian Indie Rock Songs of the 00s, with the band also ranking Number 1 in View 902‘s The Top 20 Albums by Nova Scotians.
The Label Obscura release features brand new artwork by Yorodeo and detailed liner notes by Brian Chidester. This is a limited edition of 300 copies, pressed on 180-gram vinyl, sure to bring plent of smiles to fans new and old alike. It is now available via Bandcamp. Tour dates are to be announced soon.

1. Filtered Light
2. In the Morning
3. Mother Dear
4. Try Telling That to My Baby
5. Gentle Strength
6. The Night and I Are Still So Young
7. He Heard His Song
8. Silver Crown
9. Veranda Celeste
10. Fall On My Sword
11. Unreasonably Sad
12. Don’t Get Me Wrong

Keep up with The Heavy Blinkers
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Keep up with Label Obscura
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Bandcamp

Keep up with Shameless Promotion PR
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | LinkedIn | Email

La Redazione


Inserisci i tuoi dati qui sotto o clicca su un'icona per effettuare l'accesso:

Logo WordPress.com

Stai commentando usando il tuo account WordPress.com. Chiudi sessione / Modifica )

Foto Twitter

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Twitter. Chiudi sessione / Modifica )

Foto di Facebook

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Facebook. Chiudi sessione / Modifica )

Google+ photo

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Google+. Chiudi sessione / Modifica )

Connessione a %s...